Minister for Primary Industries, Niall Blair, has announced Agricultural Natural Disaster Relief for primary producers within parts of the Ballina, Lismore and Coffs Harbour Local Government Areas, which were affected by a severe weather event in August this year.

The August storm caused over $1.3 million of damage to 7.5 hectares of blueberry, banana and cucumber production, hydroponic vegetable businesses and nurseries. Damage was caused by wild wind and hail with significant infrastructure damage and production loss.

Primary producers within the following areas (Parishes) can access the Agricultural Natural Disaster Relief Assistance:

Ballina/Lismore LGAs (Parishes of South Ballina, Tuckombil, Meerschaum and Lismore) Coffs Harbour LGA (Parishes of Sherwood, Corindi, Waihou, Woolgoolga, Orara, Moonee, Coff and Bonville)

Farmers in these areas can apply for low interest loans of up to $130,000, to help repair their properties.  The loans, at 1.16 per cent interest per annum, come with a two-year interest and repayment free period.

Affected primary producers should contact the NSW Rural Assistance Authority (RAA) for eligibility criteria on 1800 678 593 or visit

Share This